top of page
Tanforan Assembly Center Memorial Committee

The Tanforan Committee was formed in March 2021 to initiate an exhibition of Dorothea Lange and Paul Kitagaki Jr. photographs to commemorate the 70th anniversary of the opening of the former detention center located at the former Tanforan Racetrack in San Bruno, CA. With the approval and support of the Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) Board of Directors and staff, the exhibit was installed inside the San Bruno BART train station. Originally created and sponsored by the committee and the Contra Costa JACL to be a temporary exhibit, the photographs remained on display for over ten years. It has recently been replaced with another art exhibit focusing on the Japanese American incarceration. 

After the committee installed the original photo exhibit, it spend the next ten years working to build the permanent bronze statue and memorial plaza just outside the train station. 


  • Doug Yamamoto

Vice President

  • Steve Okamoto


  • Ken Ijichi


  • Gail Wiemann

Board Members

  • David Fielder

  • David Inada

  • Robbin Kawabata

  • Paul Kitagaki Jr

  • Karyl Matsumoto

  • Richard Oba

  • Paul Okada

  • Diana Okamoto

  • Richard Sekiguchi

  • Ben Takeshita

  • Esther Takeuchi

  • Tim Wallace

  • Ken Yamashita

bottom of page